College Essays

I came home for the weekend and yesterday  I went for a nice outing with an old friend. It was nice reconnecting with her and catching up with each other’s lives. We ate so much Indian food, I was bloated to a point where it hurt to laugh. Ridiculous yet worth it.

I got back home around 10:30 or so and my mom made no hesitation in jumping into college essays. I only got time to take my shoes off. We worked on two essays and gosh maybe some of you know this and maybe you don’t, but never work on college stuff with your parents. Only show them drafts when needed. Don’t write together. I almost died of frustration.

Mom kept telling me not to do this, that sounds childish, this sounds weird, why are you writing backwards (I don’t even know what she means by that but I didn’t argue), etc. Now, I have just recently developed into someone who talks back to her parents (late bloomer?) but I still don’t yell or anything. And still, there are moments where I restrain myself in front of my mom. Because.. she can be a raging bull when she’s mad. Seriously though. It’s a bit scary when she’s mad. And during stressful times like these, no way am I taking chances.

I actually literally felt frustration bubbling inside me. I had to clench my fists several times whenever she made a comment on what or how I was writing. She also has this thing where she’ll sigh and it sounds like a sigh of frustration/disappointment. It gets on my nerves so damn much. I kept looking at her whenever she did that. Which was like every 10 minutes.

Two hours later, I’m dead beat and I could feel my eyelids drooping. My legs were cramping up from sitting so long, and my butt was starting to ache too. She finally let me off the hook (yeesh) and I pretty much collapsed on my bed in exhaustion. But lo and behold. I can’t fall asleep. Took me about three hours to do so.

Now, today I thought I’d relax before going back to school. Plopped down on the couch, played some music from my laptop and drew. Just about an hour ago my mom called from work telling me I should work on two essays before I leave. Like hell I’m going to.

I would show a picture of my drawing, but my dad thinks it’s not so pleasant (It really isn’t that bad… but I’ll just not show it.) I’m an artsy person so normally I’m either writing or drawing accompanied by music. Love it.

So anyway, hopefully my mom will let me disregard essays for a while so I can focus on school work. I think she would want me to come back next weekend to work again… But I hope not.

Leave a Reply

