Vegetarianism

In English class today, my teacher asked a classmate of mine what made him become a vegetarian (in context of what we were talking about, it wasn’t out of the blue). His main point was that he realized how animals were being treated on the farms and that that struck something in him.

I’m a person who loves animals. I can’t stand the sight of slight animal abuse and I even feel uncomfortable when someone kills a bug (hey, I’m a Buddhist). I watched part of a documentary of animal abuse and treatment (part because my dad stopped it ten minutes later). It was horrible. A few people found a badly injured stray dog and they just tossed him into a garbage truck like it was no big deal. Another clip was of a farmer “cutting” off a cow’s horns with a pair of huge wrenches. Without giving the animal anesthesia. The cow was screaming and it fell on the ground in pain. I was horrified and I was ready to bawl my eyes out.

And yet… is it weird that I eat meat? Well, maybe not just eat, but rather love meat. I would want to become a vegetarian, but I know I wouldn’t be able to sustain that vow. By saying I love animals and despise the abuse and terrible treatment they get and yet still love eating meat…Am I a hypocrite?

I know there are many people like me out there, but I feel as though it’s different for me. I’m a Buddhist who believes in compassion and non-violence (give and take a few instances where I lose my temper and want to punch someone) and I believe them so strongly. But I eat meat.

I don’t know, maybe it’s just how I feel. The talk today kind of got to me and made me rethink things/wonder about myself.

Leave a Reply

