Senior Project Preview!!

Hey everyone. I feel like it’s been a while since I’ve posted. Then again, I can’t even remember the last time I posted, set aside the idea that I’ve been in a hectic mode last couple weeks.

So today we swapped rooms in the dorm. Basically, we switch rooms with everyone. Of course, it’s not spontaneous or anything. We fill out forms stating who our previous roommates have been, whether they were singles, doubles, or triples, and then the rooms that we have lived in for the past however many years you’ve been here.

The seniors all had singles first semester, except for me and my roommate (I’ll miss her like crazy :( even though she’s on the other end of the hall), so this semester we’re all doubling up and letting the juniors have singles. But because I haven’t had a single before, I requested one. Firstly, it’s gonna be my first and last, and secondly, because I’m epileptic, it takes me a lot longer to do work than an average student (I’m sure you recall those posts where I mentioned some stuff on late nights and my roommate being bothered and etc.) so if I had a single I could take my sweet time and make sure everything is all good in my assignments and what not.

So today, I moved out of my room to my new single. It’s a pretty nice single. Snug and just right. It’s not exactly large, but it’s spacious enough for a single person. I’m thinking of getting some more posters, especially of my favorite hockey team.

The main point of my post was about this project I will be starting. So at my school, we don’t have finals. Instead, the seniors are required to do this thing called Senior Project. What happens is that seniors basically come up with a project they have to work on and complete within a month and then present it to the senior project committee, and then they’re told whether they pass or not. If they don’t pass, they don’t get a diploma and have to repeat the year… Yeah. I didn’t realize it was that serious/brutal until recently. So I really have to take this seriously. The projects last about a month, and seniors drop all their courses during that time. We call is senior spring, and man I’m so looking forward to that.

Oh, and the project can either be a full project, half project, or (if I’m not mistaken) third project. For a full project, you have to work 40 hrs/week on your project. For a half project it’s only 20 hrs/week, but that would mean you either have to think of another half project, or you keep two of your courses to keep attending. A third, I’m not sure if it even exists but it’s similar to what I’ve listed.

My project is going to be related to psychology and buddhism. The Dalai Lama gave a week long talk on how one can understand someone’s mind through buddhist religion (psychology and philosophy fall under that category) mixed in with modern day science. It’s a little complicated but that’s the main gist of it. So my project is watching those videos (each are about 45 minutes long), reading these two books the Dalai Lama has written on that topic, and creating a blog where I’ll post (I’m not sure if I will do it daily) what I’ve learned.

So watch out for my new blog guys! I’ll let you know when I start the blog and then give you a heads up and also post a link to it.

First I have to worry about my proposal though… What I have to do is write a half-page to a page long (I hope I’m mistaken on the length of the proposal…) proposal stating my project, goal and product. The final product is basically what I’ll present to the committee and hope that it will get me an ‘okay, pass’ from them. I hope that my proposal will get approved and passed. If my project gets rejected, I only have so much time to think of a new project. I heard it’s usually unlikely for a project to get rejected. So I also have to think of a very creative/cool title so that it will already give a good impression for the committee.

Crossing my fingers!

So for now, I’m going to go off and watch the hockey game while munching on some stuff. Don’t know what though.

See you guys!

7 thoughts on “Senior Project Preview!!

  1. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues? A small number of my blog audience have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

    • I actually don’t run into issues or anything like that. Is your Explorer updated/latest version? That’s all I can think of haha sorry! If there is anything I can advise you on, I’ll definitely let you know.

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in
    accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your
    weblog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing in your augment or even I
    success you get entry to persistently fast.

Leave a Reply

