The Best of Eden

I used to read a lot of books when I was younger, and today I attempt to keep reading because it’s fun and I miss being an avid reader like I was years ago. Currently, I’m reading a book about paleontology called “The Story of Life in 25 Fossils” by Donald R. Prothero. It’s incredibly fascinating and I’m learning SO much with every paragraph that comes my way. Essentially, each chapter is dedicated to going in depth about an iconic or simply very important fossil that have been discovered and why it’s so important to the paleontological study. I’m making slower progress than usual, as I’m only reading it on the train or bus and such. Never really during the rest of my free time.

Normally, I typically enjoy mystery and fantasy/sci-fi genres. As a writer and creative person, those types of genres really spark my creativity and I’m always wow’ed by an author’s originality and their own amount of creativity. Mystery and fantasy/sci-fi are the type of genres that really grab my attention (granted, of course there are other genres I’ll read, but those two are my favorite). A recent book I read was called “A Head Full of Ghosts” by Paul Tremblay and I would fail at describing this plot without making it sound boring so you’ll have to look up the summary yourselves (sorry!). I’ll just say that there’s this one page toward the end that gives me the chills every time I read it.

And of course, my favorite author of some of my favorite series ever is Darren Shan – author of horror-fantasy books. I am constantly amazed by his originality and there are SO many plot twists in his books that I’m just always pleasantly appalled by his work. There is one series where, I swear, you’re reading the first book thinking the main protagonist is a guy but then BAM, suddenly toward the end of the book it’s revealed the main character is a freaking girl. I did a double take and had to read that section several more times before it finally registered in my head. And when I furiously skimmed through the book again in disbelief, I realized that Darren Shan had made no reference to the protagonist’s gender and did a darn good job having you think it was a male considering the personality of the character. Man… that was amazing. Anywho, I have most of his books on my bookshelves at my house on display like prizes.

But, despite all of that, I’d have to say that my all-time favorite book of all time would be “East of Eden” by John Steinbeck. Classic, of course. Honestly, I’m not sure why it’s my favorite haha it’s completely the opposite of the types of books I usually enjoy. It’s quite long (like 600 pages long), pretty bland with lots of narration and not a lot of action, and no major plot twists or anything. It’s a pretty straight forward, bland, long read. And yet, it’s my favorite!

I think it may be the writing style of John Steinbeck (I mean, he can’t be a well respected author for nothing) that appeals to me. Although there’s nothing exciting happening typically, there’s something about the way he writes that really draws me in. So much so that I actually am enraptured by endless pages of character description or a bland scene. I think it may be how real the characters seem and how you really see them as real people with intricate lives and personalities.

Whatever it may be, I love this book a lot. I always read this book every year or so, when my memory of it has faded enough for me to read it and enjoy it again. It’s actually currently sitting on my night stand right now (since like, the summer when I read it during my breaks at work)! Haha. Anywho, thought I’d share that.

Now I’m off to eat apple slices with peanut butter. Have a great night everyone!

Leave a Reply

